About

Smokefreerockquest is New Zealand’s only nationwide, live, original music, youth event. Now in its 33rd year, the series of over 40 events reaches audience numbers in excess of 10,000 every year.

Founded in 1989 by music teachers Glenn Common and Pete Rainey, Smokefreerockquest has now become a New Zealand institution.

Smokefreerockquest aims to motivate young musicians to prove their ability and realise the heights they can reach in their music careers, and to encourage their peers to support original New Zealand music.

Read history

Dates for 2021

Please note that it is possible some of these dates may 
change closer to the time.

Region

Heat Date

Final Date

Northland

Sun 23rd May

Wed 23rd June

North Shore

Fri 21st May

Fri 11th June

Auckland Central

Sat 22nd May

Sat 12th June

Manukau

Sat 22nd May

Fri 18th June

AK Solo/Duo

Sun 13th June

AK Smokefree 
Tangata Beats

Sat 19th June

Sat 26th June

Waikato

Sat 15th May

Fri 28th May

Bay of Plenty

Sun 16th May

Sat 29th May

Taranaki

Sat 29th May

Whanganui

Fri 28th May

Sat 26th June

East Coast

Fri 21st May

Fri 11th June

Region

Heat Date

Final Date

Hawkes Bay

Sat 22nd May

Sat 12th June

Manawatu

Sun 16th May

Fri 25th June

Wellington & Hutt

Sat 15th May

Sat 3rd July

Nelson

Sat 8th May

Fri 11th June

Canterbury

Sat 15th May

Fri 4th & Sat 5th June

Wairarapa

Sat 5th June

Timaru

Sat 26th June

West Coast

Fri 2nd July

Otago

Sat 22nd May

Sat 26th June

Central Otago

Sun 23rd May

Sat 19th June

Southland

Thur 17th June

Team

MATT EALAND

General Manager & Event Manager (Upper North)

GEORGIA PARKER

Communications Manager & Event Assistant

PETE RAINEY

Director / Co-founder

GLENN COMMON

Director / Co-founder
glenn@rockquest.co.nz

DAN

Event Co-ordinator & Event Manager (South Island)

JANE

Event Manager (Lower North)

JAKE

Assistant

ANDREW MCCORMACK

Designer
andrew@rockquest.co.nz

COntact

We’d love to hear from you:
Instagram - @rockquest
Facebook - @rockquest
YouTube - @rockquest
Email ushelp@smokefreerockquest.co.nz

Phone us – (03) 545 6574

Write to us – PO Box 568, Nelson

BREAKING IT DOWN

As apart of our Breaking It Down Series, along with their interview Gabe and Ash from Foley treated us to this absolutely stunning acoustic version of their song Rendezvous.

You can see their full interview, along with a bunch of others from the likes of JessB, Six60, Paige and Devilskin right here on the Smokefreerockquest website.

WATCH + READ MORE

Sponsors

We are extremely grateful for our wonderful sponsors.
Without them, Smokefreerockquest would not be possible.

EHARA KOE I A IA!

FAQs

Who can enter Smokefreerockquest?
When are entries due?
What are the Smokefreerockquest Conditions of Entry?
Can people play in more than one band, 
or enter in a band AND as a soloist?
Can we add, remove or change the members of our band once we’ve entered into Smokefreerockquest?
What happens if one of our band members 
leaves school after we enter?
We entered a while ago but haven’t heard back or 
received any information. What should we do?
How do we change the band name that we 
entered into Smokefreerockquest?
Once you have performed you have to stick with the name we have you entered with. My band is pulling out of Smokefreerockquest. Who do we contact to let know?
Do the songs entered in the APRA Lyrics Writers Award 
have to be the songs that my act plays in the video entry?